Approved Minutes Ocean Charter School Governance Committee Meeting September 13, 2018

# Called to order by Jason Haas, Governance Committee Chair and convened at 6:30pm.

Committee members present: Stephanie Edwards, Kristy Mack-Fett, Jason Haas, Laura Stoland, Edward Eadon, and Sue Ingles

Committee members absent: Debbie Tripp

Others present: Joshua Dome

A quorum was present.

## **Open Forum**

There were no comments at Open Forum.

#### **Confirmation of Governance Committee Members**

The committee reviewed its current membership and discussed the need to add more Board members.

#### Discussion of the formation of a School Attendance Review Board ("SARB")

The committee agreed on the desirability for the School to form a SARB and discussed the appropriate composition and operation of a SARB. It was agreed that a SARB should be under administration oversight and that, if any Board members were to participate in the SARB, they would do so as individuals.

## WASC (Western Accreditation of Schools and Colleges) Self-Study

Administration reported that they were still investigating the procedures and steps in which OCS would need to engage to complete the self-study required for WASC accreditation. The committee discussed the feasibility of completing WASC accreditation during the 2018-2019 school year and determined that it would be desirable for the School to have additional time for this process.

## Discussion of school administrative structure

The committee discussed potential changes to the administrative structure of the School, both in the immediate future as well as after the School moves to a single site in the Fall of 2020. The committee members and other attendees spoke with the administrators to get their personal insights and perspective on school operations and what changes, if any, would be desirable to improve School performance.

## Review of current strategic plan and discussion regarding updates

This item was tabled until a future meeting.

The meeting adjourned at approximately 9:35 pm.

Respectfully submitted by Jason Haas, Governance Committee Chair